Big Bash League Venues

Cricket Australia organizes the big bash since 2011. Its 9th season of big bash and fans are excited to watch their favorite players in the big bash. There are also many overseas players, and each team has at least two foreign players. In this article, we are going to discuss Big Bash League Venues.

The first match of KFC Big bash is going to start on 17 December between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder. The match will happen at Gabba Stadium at 6: 10 PM. In the previous season, there were 59 matches in the ground. This time the total matches will 57. The top 2 teams will have a chance to play in finals if they don’t lose the match in play-offs.

Must Check: Big Bash 2019-20 Schedule

The Gabba Cricket Ground BBL Matches

The Gabba cricket ground is present in Queensland, Brisbane Heat. Brisbane heat vs. Sydney thunder match will also play at this cricket stadium. It has a capacity of 42000 people approximately. The cricket ground was opened in 1895. There are many other sports hosted in The Gabba Sports ground include athletes, football, cycling, baseball, and even concerts.

The first match hosted in this ground was between Parliament and the press in 1896. In the next season of big bash league, There are almost five matches host in this ground.

  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Sydney Thunder
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Hobart Hurricanes
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Melbourne Renegades
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Sydney Sixers

Docklands Stadium – Marvel Stadium

The stadium was opened in 2000. There are almost 48,000 people can sit in this ground if we talk about cricket. Otherwise, the capacity of the ground is between 12,000 to 70,000. The stadium is still known for many names to include Etihad Stadium. Some people even call it Telstra Dome. There is some history behind calling these name for Docklands Stadium. If we talk about big bash league, then there are almost five matches in the Marvel Stadium.

  • Melbourne Renegades v Adelaide Strikers
  • Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Sixers
  • Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars
  • Melbourne Renegades v Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades v Brisbane Heat

Manuka Oval in Australia Capital Territory

If we talk about the home of Manuka Oval, then Mauka is present in New South Wales, Australia Capital Territory. The dimensions of this cricket ground are almost 179m long, 150m wide. It has a capacity of 13,550 people at a time.

Moreover, the stadium developed in 1929. The Manuka is located at Canberra Australia. The first match will host between the Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers.

Very few matches will host there. The reason is only a few people can adjust to the ground and if a big match held there then a lot of problems. Therefore, Total two matches will host there include.

  • Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers
  • Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades

Check Now: BBL Teams Squads 2019-20 Season

Sydney Cricket Ground BBL Matches

Sydney Cricket Stadium is famous for hosting a lot of big matches in history. Most of the finals and semi-finals usually hosted in this cricket ground. The capacity of over 48,000 people in this cricket stadium. The ground used for Test cricket matches, International ODI, and twenty-twenty matches. The cricket stadium was opened in 1848. If we talk about other sports, then significant leagues of football started at Sydney cricket ground.

Total six matches will host in this ground during Big bash league 2019-2020. All the Sydney sixers matches will play in this ground. Here we have the list of matches between Sydney sixers and another team host in this ground.

  • Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers v Brisbane Heat
  • Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder
  • Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes
  • Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars
  • Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Renegades

Adelaide Oval

Adelaide Oval is a sports ground and located in the parklands. Fifty-three thousand five hundred eighty-three people can sit, and it includes the standing room. Adelaide Oval is one of the most significant sports ground in Australia. The ground is 190.2m long and 126.2m in width. Australian league football and Rugby leagues are also hosted in this sports ground.

Moreover, the game includes cycling, athletes, and soccer. Adelaide Oval Stadium Management Authority managed this stadium for all the sports. In the upcoming big bash league, there will at least seven matches in this ground — the first match between Adelaide Strikers and Perth scorchers.

Here is the list of all the matches host in Adelaide Oval:

  • Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers
  • Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Thunder
  • Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers
  • Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Renegades
  • Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat
  • Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars
  • Adelaide Strikers v Hobart Hurricanes

Sydney Showground Stadium

Showground opened in 1998 with name Sydney showground main arena. After an upgrade in 2011, it named as Sydney showground stadium. All the Sydney thunders matches will host in this ground. The showground has capacity 24,000 people, and the field is also famous for the Spotless Stadium.

Moreover, the ground is located at Sydney Olympic Park. The fact is, Sydney Showground stadium is famous for the 8th most significant Australian football league ground. In the big bash league, there will at least five matches during the league.

Here are the five matches host in this ground:

  • Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars
  • Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat
  • Sydney Thunder v Hobart Hurricanes
  • Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder v Perth Scorchers

Perth Stadium Or Optus Stadium

Perth Stadium is the multi-purpose stadium and used for different kinds of sports, and the ground located in Perth. The ground is new and starts on 21 January 2018. It has a capacity of over 60,000 to 65000. The primary ground purpose is for cricket matches and football. There will almost seven games in the big bash league. All the Perth scorchers will host in this ground.

Here are the seven matches host in this ground:

  • Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Renegades
  • Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers
  • Perth Scorchers v Hobart Hurricanes
  • Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat
  • Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers v Sydney Thunder
  • Perth Scorchers v Adelaide Strikers


These all are the big bash league venues, and almost most of the matches will host in these ground of Australia. The big bash league 2019-2020 matches will begin from 17 December in The Gabba Stadium.